Search

Protect Your Business with a Comprehensive Anti-Harassment Policy

Establishing, communicating and reinforcing an anti-harassment policy is required for certain employers, recommended by the U.S. Supreme Court for all employers and can support your defense in the case of a lawsuit.

1

Confirm your workplace is in compliance with all required
EEOC postings.

Policies

2

Create a formal, written,
no-harassment policy.

EEOC postings

3

Train managers
and employees.

Train managers 
and employees

4

Reinforce your policy throughout the workplace.

Reinforce your policy

State-Specific Requirements:

STATE REQUIREMENTS DEADLINE FOR TRAINING
EXISTING EMPLOYEES
LEGISLATION
California Employers with five or more California-based employees must:
  • Provide at least one hour of effective interactive training and education to all non-supervisory employees — including temporary and seasonal employees — by January 1, 2021
  • Provide two or more hours of effective interactive sexual harassment training and education to all supervisors within six months of hire and/or obtaining a supervisory role, and repeat that training once every two years
  • Satisfy state-specific training requirements California
January 1, 2021 SB 1343 & SB 778
Connecticut Employers with three or more employees must:
  • Provide at least two hours of sexual harassment training to all employees located in Connecticut within six months of hire date for employees hired on or after October 1, 2019
  • Provide at least two hours of sexual harassment training to existing employees by October 1, 2020
  • Satisfy state-specific training requirements
All Connecticut employers – regardless of company size – are required to provide training to supervisors by October 1, 2020 or within six months of obtaining a supervisory role.

Employers who fail to comply with these regulations risk fines up to $1,000.
October 1, 2020 Time’s Up Act
Delaware Employers with 50 or more employees must:
  • Train new employees within a year of their start date and every two years thereafter
  • Ensure existing employees have been trained in accordance with the state's requirements and repeat that training once every two years
  • Provide effective interactive sexual harassment training and education to all supervisors within one year of hire and/or obtaining a supervisory role and repeat that training once every two years
  • Satisfy state-specific training requirements
Already in Effect HB 360
Illinois All Illinois employers must:
  • Provide sexual harassment training to all employees by January 1, 2021.
  • Repeat training each year thereafter
  • Satisfy state-specific training requirements

Employers who fail to comply with the regulations will be subject to civil penalties of $500-$1,000, and up to $5,000 for subsequent violations.
January 1, 2021 SB 75: Workplace Transparency Act
New York Employers who employ anyone in the state of New York must:
  • Provide sexual harassment training to all employees located in New York on an annual basis.
  • Train new employees as soon as possible, noting employers may be liable for the actions of employees immediately upon hire
  • Satisfy state-specific training requirements
New York City
Under the Stop Sexual Harassment in NYC Act, employers in New York City with 15+ employees must satisfy additional training requirements.
NYS: Already in effect
NYC: April 1, 2020
NYSHRL/S6577/Stop Sexual Harassment in NYC Act
Maine Employers with 15 or more employees must :
  • Provide sexual harassment training to all new employees within one year of the commencement of employment
  • Conduct additional training for supervisory and managerial employees within one year of commencement of employment
  • Satisfy state-specific training requirements

Employers who fail to comply with the regulations may be assessed a fine of $1,000, for the first violation, $2,500 for a second violation and $5,000 for subsequent violations.
Already in Effect 26 M.R.S.A §807
States with Mandatory Sexual Harassment
Posting Requirements

California
Connecticut
Delaware
Maine
Massachusetts

On a state level, the government posting fines are typically between $100 and $1000 per violation.
States with Mandatory Sexual Harassment
Handout Requirements

California
Connecticut
Delaware
Maine
Massachusetts
New York
Rhode Island
Vermont

On a state level, the government fines for noncompliance can range up to $1000 per violation.
Filters
Sort
display